Log in

Meeting and Annual Banquet  Highlights 

The Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society, under the leadership of President Marshall Stafford, MD, hosted their 58th Annual Meeting on March 10 at the Omni William Penn Hotel. The in-person event attracted over 90 physicians and welcomed distinguished ophthalmologist Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD who served as the 42nd Annual Harvey E. Thorpe Lecturer.

The named lecture honors Harvey E. Thorpe, MD, an ophthalmologist whose techniques and inventions of medical instruments contributed to the study of the eye series.

Dr. Herndon is a Professor of Ophthalmology, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina. He is   member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and was a member of the first class of the Leadership Development Program.   He currently serves as Chief of the Glaucoma Division at the Duke University Eye Center where he has trained 84 clinical fellows. Dr. Herndon was recently appointed the president of the American Glaucoma Society. 

Attendees were enlightened and educated with presentations from the following prominent and distinguished guest faculty: 

Philip Custer, MD, FACS - Professor, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, John E. Hardesty, MD Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO.  Tom Oetting, MS, MD - Professor in Clinical Ophthalmology; Deputy Director, VA Medical Center Surgical Service; Associate Residency Program Director, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, IA;  Michelle Pineda, MBA – Risk Management Specialist, Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company (OMIC); José Alain-Sahel, MD - Distinguished Professor and Chairman; The Eye and Ear Endowed Chair Department of Ophthalmology; Director, UPMC Eye Center University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine Pittsburgh, PA.

The Society is grateful for our exhibitors and not-for-profit organizations who continually support the annual program. A complete list of vendors is below. 


59th Annual Meeting is scheduled for

Friday, March 8, 2024

Planning for the 59th Annual Meeting will begin in May. Members will receive information late 2023 and are encouraged to check the website periodically for updates.

Above: (l to r): Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD, 42nd Annual Harvey E. Thorpe Lecturer, receives the Thorpe Scroll from Marshall W. Stafford, MD, President.

Below (l to r) Guest Facuty Thomas Oetting, MS, MD; Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD, Harvey E. Thorpe Lecturer; Marshall W. Stafford, MD, President, and Guest Faculty Philip Custer, MD.

Below (l to r) Guest Facuty Thomas Oetting, MS, MD; Leon W. Herndon, Jr., MD, Harvey E. Thorpe Lecturer; Marshall W. Stafford, MD, President, and Guest Faculty Philip Custer, MD.

Annual Banquet ...  In case  you missed it!

This year's annual banquet was held Thursday evening, prior to the Annual program.

The Sofia Room at the Hotel Monaco provided a chic, yet casual setting for members and guests to enjoy fellowship and camaraderie. Several guest faculty members joined the evening's festivities and took advantage of the opportunity to socialize with colleagues and meet members of the Society. 

The night ended with remarks from Marshall W. Stafford, MD outgoing President and comments from

Pamela P. Rath, MD, who begins her term as president. Dr. Rath's term begins March 2023 and ends March 2025. 

Society Mission

To act as the voice of ophthalmologic medicine in the Pittsburgh area, to serve as a patient advocate in promoting preventive eye care, quality medical and surgical care and rehabilitative services for individuals with ophthalmologic diseases and to advance the knowledge, science and practice of ophthalmology, to assist in the improvement of the quality of ophthalmologic medicine and training therein, and to promote integrity in the practice of ophthalmic medicine.

Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society | 850 Ridge Avenue | Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Email: | Phone 412-321-5030 x110 

Need more information? Contact Nadine Popovich, POS Administrator

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software