2021 Academy Award Program 

The Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society congratulates the following members who were recipients of distinguished awards from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO):

Kenneth Cheng, MD - 2021 Hall of Fame Award

Evan "Jake" Waxman, MD, PhD - 2021 Straatsma Award

The American Academy of Ophthalmology recognizes its members for several different types of achievements. These awards honor ophthalmologists in multiple stages of practice and for a range of activities, from humanitarian service and significant contributions to the profession, to mentorship and faithful volunteer service.

Dr. Cheng and Dr. Waxman received their awards during the AAO Award Program presentation at the Annual meeting in New Orleans, November 13-15, 2021. 

Society Mission

To act as the voice of ophthalmologic medicine in the Pittsburgh area, to serve as patient advocate in promoting preventive eye care, quality medical and surgical care and rehabilitative services for individuals with ophthalmologic diseases and to advance the knowledge, science and practice of ophthalmology, to assist in the improvement of the quality of ophthalmologic medicine and training therein, and to promote integrity in the practice of ophthalmic medicine.

Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society | 850 Ridge Avenue | Pittsburgh, PA 15212

412-321-5030 |  FAX 412-321-5323

Need more information? Contact Nadine Popovich, POS Administrator

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software